anxious at work? it’s not just you

Ever get this feeling in a meeting?

I do.

And what I’m thinking is – Holy Pasta Batman, I did not see that question coming…if only I could have a moment under the table I might be able to compose myself enough to answer it.

It doesn’t help if the asker is already agitated because they think they know the answer to the question…and they don’t like that answer at all.

The last time this happened to me, I did this:

Only to craft a well thought out answer on my way to the car where it really wasn’t good for anything but flogging myself with.

It’s exasperating because the offence here isn’t being unprepared, it’s being unable to think in the presence of hotheads.

So, the very next time I get put on the spot, I’m just going to tell it like it is:

I’m sorry I can’t think when that vein is bulging in your neck. And if you want the best from me you’re going to have to stop using that tone and flaring your nostrils like that.

Or, perhaps something a little more succinct will do:

I want to give you the very best answer I can, so give me a minute to collect my thoughts.

Either way, you’ll know what I’m thinking.

Now, where’s my blankie?

7 thoughts on “anxious at work? it’s not just you

  1. Hang tight, young Skywalker! I just read a Katie Couric book of advice from famous people, and one of the huge, repeated themes was “stay in there and keep failing, you’ll succeed if you don’t give up.” Original, no? I bet you’ve only heard that a trillion times. But it’s true.

Leave a Reply

