Silent Night: Coping with a Carol

Silent Nightecard created by Grzegorz Łobiński for the EcardSphere project.

I got a text from my sister yesterday. She’d been in the public restroom with her three-year old for twenty minutes waiting for her to go pee, while my other niece decided to take advantage of her captive audience by misbehaving.

“Shoot me now!” she wrote.

“I wish I could,” I wrote back, “it would be the kindest thing.”

I went Christmas shopping yesterday too. Minus the toilet training, and with both my boys at the grandparents, you’d think I’d have an easy time of it.

Not so – Squirrel decided to take advantage of his captive audience by projecting all his seasonal angst on me.

Apparently, I’m doing this whole Christmas shopping thing wrong. Who knew?

I endured that lecture all the way to the parking lot of the first store where I suggested he might want to drop me off so he didn’t have to personally witness my deeply flawed shopping routine.

So when he returned only a few moments later, I did what any wife in my situation would do. I hid in aisle and made him come find me.

When he discovered me a few minutes later in the hardware section staring at a wall of mops and brooms, I was afraid we were going to have to go through the whole “focused shopping” lecture again. But instead he handed me a dark chocolate rosemary sea salt cookie. Turns out he’d gone to my favourite bakery to clear his head and ended up purchasing this much welcomed peace-offering.

Things went pretty well after that, we managed to complete our shopping and get home without too much squabbling, but when we pulled into the driveway, things took a turn for the worse.

For some reason, Squirrel took great exception to the fact that I had three sets of car keys in my purse.

That sparked a whole lecture on always putting my things away in the same place so I didn’t have to steal his keys. It went on and on and on and when it reached its most fevered pitched, I did what any sane person in my situation would do. I broke into a highly enthusiastic version of “Silent Night” – all six verses, making sure to miss all the high notes.

Who knew that would be so effective?

Slee-eeep in heavenly pee-eeeeace! Slee-eeep in heavenly peace!

Merry Christmas, everyone!

12 thoughts on “Silent Night: Coping with a Carol

  1. I love your humour, it’s what keeps us sane in trying times. I could feel your pain though 😀 Have a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to posts in 2013! xo

    • Thanks Heather. Merry Christmas!!! It’s been an exciting one around here with the move, my new job, and trying to buy a new house, but we know we’re in the right place and that makes everything seem easier! Hope all is well with all of you.

  2. Why do men have to bug us when we have like tons of keys that inadvertently get put in weird places, making us borrow theirs. Don’t they know that we’re usually occupied with dealing with children or bringing in groceries or something?! Sheesh. I’m glad you found a solution to Squirrel’s nagging. What was his reaction?

  3. It’s hard to find your posts in google. I found it on 18 spot, you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to
    get more visitors. I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tricks

  4. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i
    know how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates readable,
    SEO friendly posts in seconds, just search in google –
    laranitas free content source

  5. Software project is one very varied topic with many instruction books
    written at the target. By learning this, we will heighten their productivity, and they will reward you regarding it.
    I recommended it til the big day I popped for precise screenwriting software.

Leave a Reply

